Preimplantation Diagnosis

Preimplantation genetic screening

During the blastocyst stage (5 days after development outside the womb), cells differ and have multiple functions: actual embryo and the placenta. Some cells from the «placenta» (trophoblast) are extracted and examined 5 days after fertilization in order to determine if all 23 chromosome-pairs are present in their correct form. This is the process of genetic examination in which the chromosomally healthy embryos are selected. Chromosomally healthy embryos are ideal, as they have a higher chance of implantation and thus to the birth of a healthy child. 

What is PGS?

Depending on the woman’s age, an abnormal number of chromosomes is detected in 25%-80% of all embryos which develop into blastocysts. This cannot be observed with a microscope. In Switzerland, as of 1.9.2017, it is possible to examine the chromosomes of individual embryos through preimplantation genetic screening (PGS=PIGS). Thereby it is possible to select embryos with 46 chromosomes in the correct form for the embryo transfer. The preimplantation genetic screening is extremely beneficial, as the selection of chromosomally healthy embryos increases the likelihood of pregnancy per embryo inserted into the uterus, as well as decreasing the risk of miscarriage.

How is PGS carried out?

3-5 placenta cells are extracted 5 days after fertilization and examined for their chromosome content. At the earliest in the following month, the embryo/s containing 46 chromosomes are inserted into the uterus.

What is the situation in Switzerland?

On the 1st of September 2017 one of the most progressive reproductive-medicinal laws of the world came into effect: up to a maximum of 12 fertilized eggs can be developed into embryos and examined for chromosomes. Because of this, the probability of pregnancy per embryo transfer is increased and the risk of a miscarriage reduced.

Who is best suited for PGS?

We expect that PGS is suitable for about 20% of all couples, and that about half of these couples choose PGS. Younger women with functionally good ovaries have mostly maximum few benefits with this test. The PGS is very well suited for women aged 40 years old or above with many blastocysts, given that with PGS, only embryos with a correct number of chromosomes will be inserted into the uterus and thus significantly increasing the success chance per transfer. PGS is also recommended for selected patients who have gone through a high number of pregnancy losses (abortions), particularly if the patient has a desire for children.

We also suggest carrying out PGS on couples that, despite many embryo transfers, have not had any success with pregnancies. We are happy to discuss with you the many advantages and disadvantages of PGS and give you tailored advice as to what the chromosome examination could mean for you and your partner, or respectively, for the child.

What are the costs?

The additional costs for the PGS are substantial. Depending on the number of embryos, one must expect costs of up to ca. 4000 CHF. Feel free to call us on +41 (0)61 261 44 00, email us at kinderwunsch@hin.ch or pop by Schifflände 3 in Basel to discuss the costs and create a tailored treatment plan.

Number of embryos with an abnormal number of chromosomes

25 %

Women over 30 Years

35 %

35 Years

60 %

40 Years

85 %

45 Years

How to find us

Email: kinderwunsch@hin.ch
Tel: +41 (0)61 261 44 00

Schifflände 3 | CH-4051 Basel | Schweiz

Consultation Hours

Monday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Thuesday: 8 am - 5.30 pm
Wednesday: 1.30 pm - 5.30 pm
Thursday: 8 am - 12 pm

Friday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Contact

arrow&v

©2020 Kinderwunschzentrum | by atelier-nov.com

Logo_praxis.jpg
menü.jpg

Präimplantations diagnostik

Präimplantations-genetisches Screening

Im Blastozystenstadium (nach 5 Tagen Entwicklung ausserhalb des Mutterleibes) unterscheiden sich  die Zellen und haben verschiedene  Aufgaben: Embryo und Nachgeburt. Einige Zellen der „Nachgeburt“ (Trophektoderm) werden 5 Tage nach der Befruchtung entnommen und untersucht, ob  23 Chromosmenpaare vorhanden sind. Es handelt sich um eine genetische Untersuchung mit der diejenigen Embryonen ausgesucht werden können, welche chromosomal gesund sind und so eine grössere  Chance haben , sich einzupflanzen und damit schlussendlich zur Geburt eines gesunden Kindes führen.

Um was geht es?
Je nach Alter der Frau werden  bei 25 bis 80% der Embryonen, die sich zu Blastozysten  entwickeln eine abnormale Chromosomenzahl festgestellt. Dies ist den Embryonen mit dem Mikroskop nicht anzusehen. In der Schweiz ist es seit dem  1.9.2017 möglich die Chromosomen der einzelnen Embryos zu untersuchen=Präimplantationsscreening=PGS=PIS. Damit ist es möglich Embryos mit 46 Chromosomen für den Embryotransfer auszuwählen. Dadurch ist die Chance auf eine Schwangerschaft pro Embryo, der in die Gebärmutter eingepflanzt wird, erhöht, und das Risiko, dass eine Schwangerschaft verloren geht, ist kleiner.

Was geschieht konkret?
5 Tage nach der Befruchtung werden 3-5 Nachgeburtszellen entnommen und auf Chromosomen untersucht. Frühestens im Folgemonat werden dann das oder die Embryos mit 46 Chromosomen in die Gebärmutter eingeführt.

Situation in der Schweiz
Am 1. September 2017 trat in der Schweiz eines der fortschrittlichsten reproduktionsmedizinischen Gesetze der Welt in Kraft. Es können bis maximal 12 befruchtete Eizellen zu Embryonen weiterentwickelt und auf Chromosomen untersucht werden. Damit ist die Chance auf eine Schwangerschaft erhöht pro Transfer und das Risiko eines  Schwangerschaftsverlustes vermindert. Die zusätzlichen Kosten für die PID sind beträchtlich. Es muss mit Kosten von je nach Anzahl Embryonen von zusätzlich bis ca. 4000 CHF gerechnet werden.

Bei wem ist die Behandlung sinnvoll?
Wir rechnen damit, dass bei ca. 20% der Paare die PID sinnvoll ist, und sich ca. die Hälfte dieser Paare für eine PID entscheiden. Bei jüngeren Frauen mit guter Eierstockfunktion macht die zusätzliche Untersuchung meist keinen Sinn. Bei Frauen um die 40. Geburtstag und danach, bei denen viele Eizellen gewonnen werden, macht die PID eher Sinn, da damit ausschliesslich Embryonen mit „normaler“ Chromosomenzahl in die Gebärmutter eingeführt werden können , und so die Chance auf ein Kind pro Transfer deutlich steigt. Daneben könnte es sinnvoll sein, diese Untersuchungen bei Patientinnen durchzuführen, die vermehrt Schwangerschaftsverluste (Aborte) zu beklagen hatten, insbesondere wenn zusätzlich ein Kinderwunschfaktor besteht (z.B. IVF indiziert ist). Es könnte auch Sinn machen, Untersuchungen bei den Paaren durchzuführen, bei denen trotz vieler Embryotransfers keine Schwangerschaft eintrat.

Gerne diskutieren wir die verschiedenen Vor- und auch Nachteile mit Ihnen und beraten Sie individuell in der Praxis darüber, was die Untersuchung der Chromosomen in Ihrem speziellen Fall für Sie und Ihren Partner, respektive für das Kind, bedeuten würde.

Anzahl Embryonen mit abnormaler Chromosomenzahl

25 %

Frauen ab 30 Jahren

35 %

35 Jahren

60 %

40 Jahren

85 %

45 Jahren

Unsere Adresse

Email: kinderwunsch@hin.ch
Tel: +41 (0)61 261 44 00

Schifflände 3 | CH-4051 Basel | Schweiz

Öffnungszeiten

Montag: 08.00 – 17.30 Uhr

Dienstag: 08.00 – 17.30 Uhr
Mittwoch: 13.30 – 17.30 Uhr
Donnerstag: 08.00 – 12.00 Uhr

Freitag: 08.00 – 17.30 Uhr

Kontakt

©2020 Kinderwunschzentrum | by atelier-nov.com

Logo_praxis.jpg
menü.jpg